This Journal Belongs To Ratchet, Nancy J. Cavanaugh

This Journal Belongs To Ratchet is about a girl who finds that fathers who fix cars and save parks, can help you find friends. Ratchet is a girl who doesn’t have a mother. Her father fixes cars for money and in his spare time saves parks. Ratchet is homeschooled. That means each September 1st, while other kids have new teachers, new bookbags, and new friends, she has a new notebook. No new teachers, her dad does that. No new bookbag. And NO new friends.

I loved this book because it shows the life of a girl who doesn’t have any friends. Making one. I can connect to this book because I really want to be home schooled but my mom doesn’t want me to be. I know, it’s the exact opposite of Ratchet’s (Rachel’s) life but thats how I connect.

This is what Goodreads has to say;

A debut middle grade novel about a girl named Ratchet and her quest to make a friend, save a park, and find her own definition of normal. Ratchet tells her story through the assignments in her homeschool journal.

If only getting a new life were as easy as getting a new notebook.
But it’s not.

It’s the first day of school for all the kids in the neighborhood. But not for me. I’m homeschooled. That means nothing new. No new book bag, no new clothes, and no friends – old or new. The best I’ve got is this notebook. I’m supposed to use it for my writing assignments, but my dad never checks. Here’s what I’m really going to use it for:

Ratchet’s Top Secret Plan
Project Goal: turn my old, recycled, freakish, friendless, motherless life into something shiny and new.

This year, I’m going make something change.

Leave a Reply

